Actofy Guide

Best book summary apps in 2026, compared

Eight apps and Actofy compared on format, free access and US App Store price, with notes on who each one suits.

Last updated

There is no single best app: the right one depends on whether you want text, audio or video, how deep you want to go, and what you will pay. This page compares eight book summary apps and Actofy, using each publisher's own public descriptions and US App Store prices as observed on September 28, 2026. We make Actofy, which is one of the apps compared, so we do not rank.

How we compared

We used each app's US App Store listing and, where named under Sources, the publisher's own pages. Features are what publishers say, not what we tested. Prices are the in-app purchase lists as printed on the store page; those lists show several price points and do not always say which is current, so they show a range, not a quote.

We do not rank the apps. “Best” depends on what you want, so each row says who the app suits. Prices, features and offers change, so check the store before you subscribe.

The table

Publicly described features as of September 28, 2026, with a link to each provider under Sources. Rows marked publisher-described come from what the provider says, not from our own testing. Prices and availability can change, so check the store before you subscribe. We make Actofy, so read this with that in mind.

Book summary apps, as publicly described
AppFormat (publisher-described)Free access (publisher-described)US App Store priceSuits
BlinkistAudio and text summaries; guides and short items.Basic plan: a free daily title; a 7-day trial in some cases with the yearly plan.Monthly $12.99 to $15.99, yearly $79.99 to $119.99, Pro $139.99 (several price points are listed; observed September 28, 2026).Quick summaries in text or audio.
HeadwayText and audio summaries, quizzes and flashcards.A free daily summary; a 7-day trial with the yearly plan.Nine Premium price points from $12.99 to $89.99 are listed, including $12.99 and $89.99 (observed September 28, 2026).A daily learning routine.
ShortformIn-depth written guides with analysis, audio narration and exercises.Both plans start with a free trial; its blog says five days.Monthly $23.99, Annual $194.99 (observed September 28, 2026).Depth and exercises.
ImprintVisual, interactive lessons with quizzes.Not stated in the listing.Monthly $15.99, yearly $74.99 to $99.99 (observed September 28, 2026).Interactive visual lessons across topics.
StoryShotsText, audio, infographics, mind maps, video and animated content.A free version plus premium plans.Monthly $5.99, annual $24.99, lifetime options $34.99 and $39.99 (observed September 28, 2026).A large library at a low price.
DeepstashShort idea cards with artwork; audio and downloads for Pro.A free start; Pro adds no ads, audio, downloads and a full reading history.Pro Monthly $12.99 to $19.99, Pro Yearly $29.99 to $119.99 (several price points are listed; observed September 28, 2026).Reading many short ideas quickly.
BookWatchAnimated whiteboard video summaries, about 30 minutes per its listing.A 7-day trial in the mobile apps, per its website.Ten price points from $8.99 to $139.99, including Monthly Subscription $12.99 and an annual plan at $89.99 (observed September 28, 2026).Long video walkthroughs.
Braintoon10-minute animated summaries with a learning plan.Eligible new subscribers may receive a free trial.Pro Monthly $12.99, Pro Yearly $59.99, Quarterly $34.99, plus items at $14.99 and $99.99 (observed September 28, 2026).A daily plan of short animated summaries.
ActofyVideo chapters and illustrated pages (Read visually). Visuals and narration are AI-generated.Free to download. Create a free account and preview a title; what a preview includes varies by title.Actofy Pro: $12.99 monthly and $89.99 yearly (observed September 28, 2026).One title at a time, in pictures, chapter by chapter.

Observed September 28, 2026. Sources are listed below.

Notes on each app

A short note on each, in the order of the table. Each is the publisher's own description; see Sources.

Blinkist

Blinkist describes short audio and text summaries of books and other content, with a free daily title on its Basic plan and paid Premium and Pro plans. It suits you if you want quick summaries and a broad range. Note that its price list shows several price points.

Headway

Headway describes summaries in text and audio, plus daily sessions, quizzes and personalized recommendations. It suits you if you want a habit with streaks and a free daily summary to start. It does not list video as a format on the pages we read.

Shortform

Shortform describes in-depth guides with analysis that connects ideas across books, audio narration and interactive exercises. It suits you if you want depth and are happy to read. Its listed prices are the highest in this comparison.

Imprint

Imprint describes visual, interactive lessons with quizzes; a chapter takes two minutes or less. It suits you if you want to learn topics through interactive visuals rather than book by book. Its listing does not state free access.

StoryShots

StoryShots describes a very large library in text, audio and other formats, with a free version and low-priced plans, including lifetime options. It says its key ideas are its own or curated from other sources. It suits you if you want breadth and a low price.

Deepstash

Deepstash describes short idea cards with artwork, with a free start and a Pro plan that adds audio and downloads. It suits you if you want to read many short ideas quickly. It is not organized book by book.

BookWatch

BookWatch describes animated video summaries using whiteboard animation, about 30 minutes per its listing and usually 20 to 60 minutes per its website. It suits you if you want a long walkthrough of a book in one sitting.

Braintoon

Braintoon describes 10-minute animated summaries, a personalized 28-day learning plan, an audio mode and downloads for Pro. It suits you if you want a structured daily plan of short animated lessons.

Actofy

Actofy turns selected ideas from books into narrated video chapters or illustrated pages; formats vary by title. It suits you if you want to see a title's ideas in pictures, chapter by chapter, and preview before you subscribe. Its selection is small, it needs a connection for video, and its visuals and narration are AI-generated. Create a free account, preview a title, then choose Actofy Pro if you want more.

How to choose

A short decision guide:

  • You want text or audio, quickly: Blinkist, Headway or StoryShots.
  • You want depth and exercises: Shortform.
  • You want more visuals: Imprint, Deepstash, BookWatch, Braintoon or Actofy, depending on whether you want lessons, cards, long videos, short animated lessons, or illustrated pages and video chapters.
  • You are watching your budget: compare the price column, check the store, and use a free tier or trial before you commit.
  • You are not sure: preview a title you know in two apps. The one you finish is the one to keep.

Where Actofy fits

Below is a real preview of an Actofy title. For a closer comparison with Blinkist and four alternatives, see Blinkist alternatives: how to choose; for what each app says is free, see what you can try free.

Sources (checked September 28, 2026)

Statements about other apps come from the pages listed here, as they read on the date shown. Prices and features can change, so check the provider before you decide.

Frequently Asked Questions

There is no single best. It depends on whether you want text, audio or video, how deep you want to go and what you will pay. The table lists what each publisher says and who each app suits.
Compare the price column: the US App Store lists as observed on September 28, 2026 show several price points per app, and they change. Check the store for what you would actually pay, and use a free tier or trial first.
BookWatch and Braintoon describe animated video summaries, StoryShots lists video and animated content among its formats, and Actofy offers narrated video chapters for some titles.
Shortform describes in-depth guides with analysis and exercises. Summaries in other apps are shorter.
No. They introduce selected ideas and leave out evidence and detail. Read the book when an idea matters.
No. We make Actofy, so we do not rank the apps. We say who each one suits and link to each publisher's own listing.

Related guides